Skip to content

Towson’s Benimon Named Finalist For Lou Henson Award

Feb 25, 2013, 1:45 PM EDT

Towson's Jerrelle Benimon

BOSTON, Mass. – Junior forward Jerrelle Benimon of Towson University is among 25 finalists for the 2013 Lou Henson Award, it was announced on Monday. The award is presented annually to the top mid-major player in college basketball.

For the second straight year is working with Point3 Basketball to promote the Lou Henson award “fan vote,” which will constitute 33% of the final vote.

Benimon is averaging 16.7 points and 11.2 rebounds per game this season. He is tied for the NCAA lead with 19 double-doubles and he is fourth in the nation in rebounding. The 6-8 junior leads the Tigers in scoring, rebounding, assists and blocks. Benimon has been named as the Colonial Athletic Association Player of the Week four times.

Due in large part to the play of Benimon, Towson (16-13, 11-5 CAA) has recorded its highest victory total since 1995-96. With two games remaining, the Tigers have a chance to record the largest single season turnaround in NCAA history.

The 2013 Award will be presented at the awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men’s NCAA Basketball Championship.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson, who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he retired from coaching in 2005, he was sixth all-time in Division I career wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State and he is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two different schools to the Final Four.

Lou Henson Award Finalists

Travis Bader 6-5 Jr. Oakland
Billy Baron 6-2 Jr. Canisius
Jerrelle Benimon 6-8 Jr. Towson
Tommy Brenton 6-5 Sr. Stony Brook
Ryan Broekhoff 6-7 Sr. Valparaiso
Isaiah Canaan 6-1 Sr. Murray State
Jackie Carmichael 6-9 Sr. Illinois State
Will Cherry 6-1 Sr. Montana
Ian Clark 6-3 Sr. Belmont
Jake Cohen 6-10 Sr. Davidson
D.J. Cooper 6-0 Sr. Ohio
Matthew Dellavedova 6-4 Sr. Saint Mary’s
James Ennis 6-7 Sr. Long Beach
Juan’ya Green 6-3 So. Niagara
Tyler Haws 6-5 So. BYU
Lamont Jones 6-0 Sr. Iona
Jake Odum 6-4 Jr. Indiana State
Jamal Olasewere 6-7 Sr. LIU-Brooklyn
Zeke Marshall 7-0 Sr. Akron
Ray McCallum 6-3 Jr. Detroit
Doug McDermott 6-8 Jr. Creighton
Mike Muscala 6-11 Sr. Bucknell
Augustine Rubit 6-7 Jr. South Alabama
Taylor Smith 6-6 Sr. Stephen F. Austin
Nate Wolters 6-4 Sr. South Dakota State

About CAA Hoop Scoop

Welcome to CAA Hoop Scoop, the official blog providing in-depth and exclusive access to CAA Men's Basketball. With features, videos, photos, commentaries and news from inside the league, we are committed to bringing you coverage of CAA Men's Basketball unlike any you can find elsewhere.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

#CAAHoops On YouTube

@CAABasketball on Twitter